Board of Education

About the Board

The Board of Education is composed of seven residents of the Oak Park School District who are elected to four or six year terms. The Board elects its President, Vice President, Treasurer, and Secretary in an annual organizational meeting. Our Board members have a variety of perspectives and skills from their personal experiences, education, careers and knowledge of the community they serve.

Board members must act in concert and have no authority to function individually in the name of the Board or District. The Board may take action only at duly convened regular or special meetings. 

Alburn Elvin, President

Al Elvin is a licensed attorney and member of the State Bar of Michigan. He works at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, where he manages a team focused on providing valuable corporate governance products and services for the respective boards of directors at Blue Cross and its HMO subsidiary, Blue Care Network. Al also represents clients with tax and estate planning issues, as well as other legal matters. Al is an alumnus of Wayne State University, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in Journalism and a Master of Arts degree in Communications. He also holds a JD and MBA degrees from the University of Detroit Mercy. Al is also an active member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Incorporated, where he serves as the 49th president of Gamma Lambda Chapter, seated in Detroit. Al is married to Nia Elvin. They have three sons: Matthew, Jaylin and Cameron. 

Term Expires: 2026


Albert A. Smith, III, Vice President

Albert A. Smith, III is a former U.S. Naval Intelligence Sailor whose career spans telecommunications and mobility engineering within the information technology and automotive sector. He currently holds a bachelor's in Information Technology, and a master's degree in Information Systems.  He is originally from New York City (Bronx, NY) and is a dedicated husband and father. Mr. Smith is a stern community advocate, Christian, and an enthusiastic member of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Incorporated. 

Term Expires: 2025

Menachem Hojda, Treasurer

Menachem Hojda grew up in Oak Park in a family of educators. He earned a bachelor’s degree in Social Work from Wayne State University, and a master’s degree in Social Work from the University of Southern California. He is a trainer for Oakland Community Health Network, and practices clinical social work with a focus on trauma at Fairsky. He is married with three wonderful daughters.

Term Expires: 2025

Larmender A. Davis, Secretary 

Larmender A. Davis is the manager of social work at Detroit’s Sinai-Grace Hospital. She is also a professor at Wayne State University School of Social Work in Detroit, MI teaching general practice and macro practice and theory at the bachelor and master levels. Davis earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in sociology and a Master’s degree in social work, with a concentration in administration and community projects both from Wayne State University. She is currently a Doctoral candidate in organizational psychology at Walden University. She is licensed with the State of Michigan as a Licensed Social Worker. Born and raised in Detroit, Davis is married and has one daughter. She attends Triumph Church where she has serves in the music ministry. When she is away from her duties, she enjoys singing, ballroom dancing, and traveling.

Term Expires: 2024


Dawn Corporan, Trustee
 Dawn Corporan - bio coming soon!

Term Expires: 2025

Paige Mattison, Trustee

Paige Mattison is originally from Detroit, Michigan. She is currently employed by Southwest Airlines. She attended Alabama State University and Specs Howard School of Media Arts. Ms. Mattison is passionate about our school community and focused on making an impact on education in the Oak Park School District, over the years she has mentored countless boys and girls through coaching. Ms. Mattison is the devoted mother of three, two of which attend school in the Oak Park School District.  
Term Expires: 2028

Xondra Clark, Trustee
bio coming soon!

Term Expires: 

Pat Greer
Board of Education Secretary